John Brown – Poster Design

This was the first project I had done since i got back from South Africa. Universal Republic asked me to design a 11×17 poster for one of their recording artist “John Brown”. They asked the posters to be based around money. Instead of going for the obvious choice of placing dollar bills on the poster I opted to base my idea around the ornaments used on American money.

I started of by drawing a pattern on a piece of paper and rendered it in Illustrator .

 

 

Above are the various comps I came up for Universal using the pattern that I drew out on paper. After discussing it with them they decided to go with the middle design.

They asked to remove the custom type I had created for them and said to use his logo they provided for me. Another change was that i centered all the information so it follows suit and looks balanced. Before some of the information was placed on the bottom left hand corner.

 

 

This is the final image that was approved by the management team of John Brown. You can see how it has changed from the selected concept design. The information is now easy to read which is centered on a grid. I changed the colours of the song names because they wanted them to stand out. Not using cliche things that represent money I think the design has worked well.
All PROMOTIONAL ITEMS ARE COPYRIGHT OF UNIVERSAL REPUBLIC RECORDS

Related links
http://www.johnbrownmusic.net
http://www.twitter.com/313johnbrown

 

2 Responses to “John Brown – Poster Design”


  1. 1 KayB Gasei October 18, 2010 at 12:41 am

    This is good stuff, keep it up fam…
    I’m liking all 3 still…
    I’ll be hollarin’ at Graphic Design @ Kingston next year hopefully!

  2. 2 kudzd October 18, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    thnxs bro apparently GD is proper gd at kingston


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Twitter @KudzD


